Good morning, and thanks for your continued support of Extra Points.

June 30 was a weird day in California.

It was, after all, the day the news broke that UCLA and USC were leaving the Pac-12 to join the Big Ten. After spending the better part of the  last 100 years playing west coast schools on a regular basis, the two biggest brands in the Pac-12 would now begin playing the majority of their conference games against Midwestern teams.

That same day, the state of California quietly expanded a state travel ban policy to include Indiana:

California Attorney General Rob Bonta today announced that California will restrict state-funded travel to Arizona, Indiana, Louisiana, and Utah as a result of anti-LGBTQ+ legislation recently enacted in each state.

Those aren't the only four states currently under a state-funded travel restriction. In fact, a whopping 22 states now under restriction, including Big Ten states other Big Ten states Iowa and Ohio, along with most of the South. Utah and Arizona, of course, are in the current Pac-12 footprint as well.

USC is a private school, so California HB 1887, the legislation that allows for these bans, doesn't apply to them. But UCLA is a public school, and no matter how 'creative' the Big Ten is able to get with scheduling logistics, there's no way around the fact that UCLA is going to need to make trips to Iowa, Indiana and Ohio.

So what happens now?